1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Off work with stress, thinking about future prospects.

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by diane1350, Mar 26, 2016.

1. diane1350

diane1350 New commenter

Hi there, I am in my second year of teaching and have been off sick with stress for three weeks now, rather than feeling better I am starting to get worse. My doctor seems to think it is because I am off work and I must say that I feel absolutely disagree. I feel sick and have panic attacks when I just walk past another school which is absolutely ridiculous but I can't stop myself from reacting like this.

I have a history of depression but was handling it well before starting in teaching. I had even got off the tablets! I don't want to go into too much detail in case of the school begin recognised but there has been quite a high turnover of staff under the current Headteacher. I was threatened to not pass my NQT year (only passed because I got my union involved) and for some silly reason I decided to stay! The pressure got worse and worse until the point I was put onto informal capabilities. I ended up going off on sick.

I do not want to go back to this school at all and plan on leaving at the end of this academic year. I have been thinking about changing careers and was thinking about doing some voluntary work while I am off sick to see the different sectors.

My question is: am I legally allowed to do this? It is 3 or 4 months until the end of the term and I do not at all want to go back... I really want to try something completely different and would like to get back in the job market asap.

2. maud1901

maud1901 New commenter