1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Off with stress - advice needed please.

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by emilythederranged, Jan 18, 2012.

1. Posted on workplace dilemmas too:

Please help. I am a primary school teacher/maths leader who is off with stress for 2 major reasons. I have a pupil in my class who is violent to other pupils and has ADHD. His behaviour is out of control and he does not respond to sanctions given to him. I am following all of the advice from behaviour support service and various other agencies to incorporate other strategies into the classroom. These do not work either. My TA is physically disabled, so I have elected to ask a friend who is a lunchtime supervisor at the school to come in and support him voluntarily. A statement is being pushed for, but the acting head refuses to find the money to provide one to one support for him (voluntary help is not there all of the time) and will not write a risk assessment for him to ensure a safe environment for everyone. The union were called and they asked him to do it, but he 'didn't see what good it would do'. The politics surrounding the situation I found was really draining, particularly as Mum isn't very supportive and would rather blame than work with the school to find a solution. The acting head also lied to the union and said I had four members of staff in my classroom, when actually, I have me, a student TA, which is extra pressure, my TA and the voluntary person who has offered to come in to help me. The second issue is that I am a newly appointed TLR for maths, which commenced in September. I have so many good ideas and know exactly how to lead the curriculum area. We have just come through special meas