1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Off with anxiety and depression

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by crazycatloveruk, Nov 4, 2018.

Tags:
  1. crazycatloveruk

crazycatloveruk New commenter

Hi,
    I still cannot believe I am writing this but I have been signed off work with anxiety and depression. I'm coming to the end of my 2nd week now, I am now starting to sleep slightly better and have tried really hard not to think about work. I've been teaching for over 10 years and I just cannot understand it as I have never felt like this before. I have totally lost all my confidence in myself and do not feel that I can stand in front of my class and teach them at the moment. I just go into a blind panic everytime I think about it. It worries me as I thought I would be feeling better by now. I resisted resigning last week as I thought I'm not in the right mindset to make rash decisions. (This took a lot of will power and support from from family)
    I have sought help from my local well being support through the GP but that does not start until next week and I have also looked into a counsellor over the telephone.
    I am feeling really anxious about what this time off is going to look like on my sick record as I have never had time off before apart from the odd day. I used to love my job and I'm not really sure what has happened to me!

agathamorse and (deleted member) like this.
  2. Alice K

Alice K Occasional commenter

Hi,
    Sorry to hear that you are feeling this way at the moment.
    Firstly, acknowledging that you feel anxious and have symptoms of depression is very brave and insightful.