1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

OCR GCSE Art Set Task 2013 - Sharing ideas?

Discussion in 'Art and design' started by tutormitchell, Jan 3, 2013.

1. Hello

I have just seen the exam paper for June 2013 OCR Art set task and thought it might be good to share ideas for the starting points given.

I am an art teacher in my second year, and as a one member department I find it a struggle at times as I don't have anyone to bounce ideas off!

If anyone has any suggestions for artists, or topics that in their experience should be avoided I would be really grateful to hear them. Once I have had a good look through the paper I will post mine too (just need to get rid of hazy Christmas brain first).

:)
    Jennie

2. Hi

We are just sat now as a department going through the paper, and creating mind maps as ideas that we can then give to the pupils to aid their decision on a Starting point.
    To start with we have looked at Social Gatherings.
    IMAGE A ; Frans Hals
    IMAGE B ; Otto Dix
    IMAGE C; Joseph Canas 'The Sardana'
    IMAGE D; NO artist - links to African art
    IMAGE E; Diego Rivera

But you can also look at celebrations, parties, Holiday, Sport - olypics etc, Festivals, Religious gatherings.

There are also artists like Bruegel and Bosch who paint lots of people gathered together in their art.

Hope this helps to start....

:)

3. inti

inti New commenter

Hi Jennie,
    Just started my lot off today. I teach in a PRU, so I have to guide my pupils considerably to the more favoured/suitable themes for them, but I can help you.