1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

OCR Foundation Portfolio novice

Discussion in 'Media studies' started by thewhiterabbit, Dec 7, 2011.

1. It's my first time teaching KS5 Media Studies and we're doing OCR. I'm teaching the Foundation Porfolio section and we're doing print media. I'm not the best at using technology but I'm doing my best! The students are using blogger to update their research and for their evaluations. I just have a few questions about it:
    1. I understand that students score higher if they use a range of media to report their research/evaluation. I've looked at slide share and prezi and would like to use both - but how do they upload them on to their blogs?
    2. Are there any other media forms they should/could use?
    3. What sort of deadlines do other people stick to? I feel that I'm falling way behind. They've done the preliminary exercise and researched magazine covers/contents/double page spreads. They've taken some pictures and started planning their magazine. Their Christmas holiday homework is to produce mood boards for their magazines.
    4. Most of their preliminary tasks are rubbish. But as I understand it, they just have to do it and they don't get marked for it. So can I just leave them as being rubbish or should they work to improve them?
    Thanks for all your help!

2. It's my first time teaching KS5 Media Studies and we're doing OCR. I'm teaching the Foundation Porfolio section and we're doing print media. I'm not the best at using technology but I'm doing my best! The students are using blogger to update their research and for their evaluations. I just have a few questions about it: