1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

OCR difficulty marks

Discussion in 'Music' started by floyd1985, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Hi
    I'm just marking some year 10 solo performances but struggling a little bit to give them a mark out of 6 for the difficulty of each piece.
    It's my first year with OCR so any help would be massively appreciated.
    The pieces that some of them have done are things like: Valerie - Amy Whinehouse (voice), Skyscraper (voice) Your Song - Ellie Goulding (Voice)
    I Giorni (piano) A Thousand Miles - Vanessa Carlton (piano)
    Thanks [​IMG]

2. Hi
    I'm just marking some year 10 solo performances but struggling a little bit to give them a mark out of 6 for the difficulty of each piece.
    It's my first year with OCR so any help would be massively appreciated.
    The pieces that some of them have done are things like: Valerie - Amy Whinehouse (voice), Skyscraper (voice) Your Song - Ellie Goulding (Voice)
    I Giorni (piano) A Thousand Miles - Vanessa Carlton (piano)
    Thanks [​IMG]

3. Has this been confirmed by OCR because they were unbelievably vague when I asked about it? The examiners report is equally vague apart from saying too many students are awarded a 6 for difficulty when it should be a 5. I'm concerned now because quite a few of my students exceed Grade 3/4 and we have awarded very few marks of 6 for difficulty. This woolly system of awarding difficulty marks is very unhelpful!

4. muso2

muso2 Occasional commenter Community helper

My understanding is that you should still think of it as a mark out of 5 as it used to be, and only give 6 if it's well above what you'd expect at GCSE standard.