1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

OCR Child Development GCSE....Help!

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by struthruth, Jun 22, 2009.

1. I've just discovered I'm teaching 2 GCSE child development groups next year having never taught it before. The course is new to the school and it seems its me and one other who have drawn the short straw. I've been given the spec from the website, but that it. I'm a Food Tech teacher and I think somehow/ someone thinks that that coupled with being a parent means I can do it. I would really appreciate some advice on texts / resources or even the beginnings of a SOW
    thanks in advance
    Struth [​IMG]

2. Hi - First don't panic - it is a lovely course to teach - I am now in my second year with OCR having previously been with AQA for 4 years. Am also a food teacher & I like the combination and I introduced it as a new subject to my new school 2 years ago.
    We all have new specs for Sep - so think you will find we are all writting new SOW etc. Get yourself booked on a study day with OCR - they are usually in the autumn term and you will find at least 4 or 5 people in the same boat as you - I remember going one year and there were several teachers who had found they were teaching it on the first day back!
    First make sure you have a budget for the subject - otherwise they will expect you to pay for it out of your food budget. Text books are being re-written -
    Heinemann Child Development by Marshall, Stuart & Robins
    Hodder Educ. Child development for GCSE by Carolyn Meggitt
    are the two which have just come out - get a copy of each and decide which one you like best and then get a class set.