1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

OCR AS/A2 How can you cover everything?!

Discussion in 'Religious Education' started by likac66, Mar 13, 2012.

1. Although I'm an experienced teacher, this is only my second year teaching RE and I teach the Ethics side of A level. I am finding it increasingly difficult to know exactly what I'm supposed to cover on this syllabus. I have the syllabus and the support materials from OCR as well as numerous text books. However, every time I read an examiners report or mark scheme there seems to be more philosophers mentioned than are in the actual syllabus. For example, I gave my students a mock based on June 2010 paper and there was a question on Free Will. The mark scheme suggested students included Sartre and Kant however the specification clearly only mentions Darrow, Hume, Locke and Honderich. I had covered these four as well as Newton, Hospers and Kant (although Kant was difficult as different text books and websites seem to have him names as both a hard determinist and a libertarian!) plus religious scholars. Of course, my students then asked why we hadn't covered Sartre as well. How am I supposed to teach these students EVERYTHING ANYBODY has said on these subjects? It's just not possible.