1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Occupational Health visit - please help a worried person

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by tehmina87, Jun 24, 2011.

1. Hello everyone, I am very worried and wanted some advice please. I work as a TA in a primary school and I was diagnosed with cancer at the start of this year. My Headteacher and line manager have been extremely supportive of my situation and the whole school - I have been very luck in the support given to me. My headteacher reduced my five day week to four days - allowing one day for treatment and appointments - and also I have been allowed to determine my own work pattern - and go in when possible (which I have been doing much to my head teachers disapproval who has privately told me he thinks i should take time off) however I have been ploughing on. I was also removed from the classroom duties and given a more administrative job which allowed me to work with children but not on a physically demanding level. However, I was due to start my GTP placement this september - and I had notified my headteacher that I would be leaving at the end of the academic year. Since though my placement has fallen through and I am currently looking for a school with my university. My head teacher told me yesterday he was planning for me to leave and had set his budget accordingly - he did however say I could stay on if I do not find a placement and my GTP is deferred - on the condition that I have to go to Occupational Health. He also said he has made lots of the adjustments already for me but now he feels I may need to go to Occupational Health - I am very worried about this because I am concerned about what will happen. I asked my head teacher if thi