1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Observed lesson Yr 1 _ Ideas?

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by annarm, Feb 23, 2011.

1. Hello -

I'm a scottish teacher who qualified in July 2010 and moved down to London for work. I have been lucky enough to have had regular supply work through agencies, and through that for the last month have been working regularly at one school and have built up a very positive relationship with them. Recently a long term Y1 cover position has come up and hence the head has asked to observe me teach Year 1 for half an hour, then observe PPA time with Year 1 (so half an hour of me showing off and the rest following the class teachers plans.) I have not taught Year 1 at all, let alone in the school so do not know the class or what work may be set for the PPA portion of the observation. Is there anything i can do to prepare, and does anyone have any ideas as to what to do for a mere 1/2 hour with Y1 unknown pupils? Many thanks, A.

2. Hello -