1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Observed Lesson for GTP Primary Application

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by glendappp, Dec 21, 2010.

1. As part of my GTP application process my potential employing school has asked me to prepare and teach a lesson with year 4 pupils. I have very little school experience and have been told I can decide which the lesson should comprise. I do not know what the curriculum areas the pupils have already covered and will be taking the lesson straight after the Christmas break. I am planning to prepare a lesson on developing thinking skills, making it a very interactive lesson with discussion on what, why how type questions.
    I believe this observed lesson is more about my ability to engage and react with the children rather than my curriculum knowledge. Do you agree?
    Any comments would be much appreciated.

2. I am pretty shocked that you are being asked to prepare and teach a lesson for you interview! I have heard that some providers ask you to prepare a starter, and i had to do a presentation on how i would teach a particular topic, but i've never heard that a prospective student has taught a whole lesson before - how nervewracking for you!
    I would have thought that they are not expecting 'the finished article' at all, just that you have planned thoroughly and engage with the children well. Good luck!

3. Hi,