1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Observations While On Supply

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by sebedina, Oct 23, 2015.

1. sebedina

sebedina Occasional commenter

Does anyone know where a supply teacher stands here? I don't mean learning walks but proper formal no notice observations from either consultants or SLT while on slightly longer supply (e.g. one term).

I have been through formal interviews to get the supply work, things go smoothly, then out of the blue either "consultants" or SLT decide to do a round of formal obs and include me in this without any prior discussion.

I am a good teacher with excellent subject knowledge and a proven track record. However, I am not a "singing and dancing" bubbly personality and time and time again I have been told the school is trying to fill a permanent position and need an "outstanding" teacher.

So I get the elbow. It is very upsetting. They always give me excellent references and I do well in schools but the rejection tells me surely I shouldn't be under formal observations when I am not permanent but employed by an agency.

2. sebedina

sebedina Occasional commenter

It is really distressing. My current job was supposed to be extended until Christmas but I have been given the heave ho saying they are looking for someone as they are looking to fill the job on a permanent basis and the school is trying to get outstanding (they are good at the moment). I couldn't sleep I was really upset about the rejection. It feels so personal.

3. Morninglover

Morninglover Star commenter