1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

observation

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by jubes1, May 1, 2012.

1. I am a qualified english teacher currently working as a skills for life tutor. My manager is qualifed to GCSE level only. she is going to observe me teaching. IS this allowed. Can she observe me? I am thinking not and to be honest not very happy about it. Can someone please advise asap. What are my options?

2. I am a qualified english teacher currently working as a skills for life tutor. My manager is qualifed to GCSE level only. she is going to observe me teaching. IS this allowed. Can she observe me? I am thinking not and to be honest not very happy about it. Can someone please advise asap. What are my options?

3. In what way is she qualified to teach only GCSE? Even if such a barrier existed in your school, I guess many people would say that teaching is about having skills that are transferable between subjects and levels, which is why (say) a science teacher can observe say an English teacher.
    I guess in your case whether your manager is any good at observing will only be demonstrated by the quality and tone of her observations.

4. no you msi-understood. She only has GCSE's she has no teaching qualifications her highest qualifications are basic skills english and maths. I work for a centre delivering skills for life. Can someone who is not qualified as a teacher observe a teacher?

5. Crowbob

Crowbob Established commenter

Are you employed as a "teacher" in a LA school?

6. no, as a skills for life tutor for a private training company

7. Crowbob

Crowbob Established commenter