1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Obs - How can I make y3 rounding numbers more interesting?

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by Jools1808, May 15, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I'm a student teacher and I'm being observed for a lesson teaching y3 children to round 2 or 3 digit numbers to the nearest 10 or 100. They also need to be able to give estimates for their sums or differences.
    I think I'm being a bit silly, but I don't understand what the estimating sums and differences means...it's Sunday, my brain is dead from a weekend of planning and the national strategies have left me panicking. Can someone enlighten me?
    I also can't seem to think of a way to make this maths interesting and more 'real'. I love teaching active lessons and the children really enjoy this, but I'm struggling to think of a way to make this happen in rounding. Can anyone suggest anything?
    Thanks so much in advance.

2. Lets say you have 513 + 197 which rounds to 500 + 200 = 700. Then 700 would be the sum estimate. The difference estimate would be 500 - 200 = 300. I can't advise on senario on 'spicing it up' for year 3 as I'm secondary/FE.

3. bombaysapphire

bombaysapphire Star commenter

I read something on here years ago about telling a story about rounding. You are walking along a road and know the people in the houses that are multiples of 10. It starts to rain when you are outside a house e.g. 83 and you have no coat or umberella. What is the number of the friend's house that you should go into?
    It gives a reason that if you are outside 85 you might as well go forward to 90.
    Counting on in 10s through transitions (e.g. 790 what comes next ) is useful as that can be a sticking point for the weaker students.