1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Nursery & Reception teachers, when do you start/finish?

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by selenafraser, Oct 25, 2019.

1. selenafraser

selenafraser New commenter

Hi everybody
    I am new to this, a recent eyts grad currently looking for my first job in either Nursery or reception.
    I am interested to know what time you arrive and leave your jobs (full time contacts)?
    I have a son just over 2 and feel very guilty about his impending increase of hours at his nursery - its such a long day for him I was hoping I could manage to fulfil a full time contact working max 8 hours a day.
    What do you think?
    Best wishes
    Selena

2. TeacherMan19

TeacherMan19 New commenter

When I was working in England I would often work 7.30 till 4.30/5

If I had nothing I needed to do I would leave earlier or start later. Its all about how you manage your time effectively.

3. ViolaClef

ViolaClef Lead commenter

Our Reception class teacher is usually in school by 7.45am. I believe she leaves around 4pm but she will then work at home in the evenings too.
    Our Nursery teacher arrives around 8.30am (for a 9am start) and leaves around 3.30pm to collect her little boys from school.

4. selenafraser

Hi, thank you for your reply. My son's nursery doesn't open till 8 so thats an added complication. I'll have to find a job practically next door!

5. selenafraser

Hi. Thanks for your reply, that gives me hope, perhaps a Nursery Teacher would suit better. I wish they wrote the hours on the job ads, save me wasting anyones time

6. grumbleweed

grumbleweed Lead commenter