1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Nursery lesson observation for interview - help!!!

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by foundationteacher2, Dec 28, 2011.

1. Hi Everyone,
    I'm a beginner to posting on this site so hoping someone can help! I've been invited to attend an interview for a Nursery Teacher post on the 10th January. The only information I've had is "Candidates will be expected to lead a 15 minute focus session of their choice". I've got to take a lesson plan with me showing any follow up activities. As I am an NQT, I have fairly limited experience and although all of my placememnts were in Reception, I realise that Nursery is a slightly different level.
    However, I'm really struggling without any more info to go out, such as topic, phonics level etc.
    Does reading a book such as "We're Going on a Bear Hunt" count as a focused activity? It's difficult to know what to do with only 15 minutes! I'm aware that it shouldn't be over complicated or too fussy but at the same time, I want to show that my interaction with the children and possibly get them moving about.
    Any help would be very very much appreciated!
    Thanks

2. MissMistoffelees

MissMistoffelees New commenter