1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Nursery interview

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by missinlondon, Jun 11, 2019.

1. missinlondon

missinlondon New commenter

Hi,

I am a primary teacher but going for a nursery teacher job. So out of my comfort zone. I need to choose a book then a task to match the story.. all to be done in 25 mins.

normally I begin with an objective I’m working to. I’m not exactly sure where the objectives are for nursery. Is this the month to month guidance?

I have a story in mind with various animals that appear on each page.

I thought about getting the children to sequence the order of the animals. However I’m not sure what objective that meets and if it is enough. Also one of the guidance notes is to get the children talking, more talking. I’m not sure if sequencing animals gives enough opportunity for talk.

I’m trying to choose a short book so it’s a quick read then activity.

Also after task... I find it difficult to round off. What sort of plenaries do you do?

Any tips?

2. grumbleweed

grumbleweed Lead commenter

Hi there. Have a look at the EYFS framework, and then development matters to help you with your objective. Look at speaking, or listening and attention.
    The trick to encouraging talk is to consider your questions. Stay away from closed questions like what colour is this, what animal is this? Does your story encourage conversation? Is there perhaps some less familiar vocabulary in it that you can explain?
    If you are thinking about sequencing, then you want to use language like first, next, last.
    (Sorry not trying to do grandma and eggs thing).
    Your activity would depend on how many children. Do you know that?

3. missinlondon