1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

numercay knowlege??

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by fazz123, Jan 22, 2011.

1. I am new to this forum so just wanted to ask a few questions related to this topic- I have recently started thinking about going into primary teaching. I have a law degree and up til now have worked in other areas. i have no exp of working in a school- last time i was in a primary school was a loong time ago!! I know that at primary level you are required to teach the whole curriculum but in practise what does this mean? what subjects are u teaching and how much knowledge of these area must you have? i have never been good at maths (i have a gcse grade B) and at the age of 26 i dont know if I could re-learn maths or that I really want to! as a trainee teacher how much maths do u need to know?

I am thinking about working as TA or LSA for a year or so to get experience in a school and understanf what goes on in primary schools etc- would this be a good way to go about it and then consider the GTP?

thanks in advance for your reply

2. seems my literacy is not up to scratch either- i of course meant numeracy![​IMG]

3. You seem to underestimate yourself. My maths knowledge got me a grade C at GCSE (so at least you got the B paper) and I spent all of Christmas preparing for a PGCE interview re-learning maths. At first it was tough, but at 35 my learning skills are far superior to those I had when I was a child. You're only 26, so I'm sure your neurones will be slightly more intact than mine!