1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQTs what did/do you want from a mentor?

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by gemmamarie08, Jun 21, 2020.

1. gemmamarie08

gemmamarie08 New commenter

Hi everyone :)

From September, I will be mentoring an NQT in my faculty. I am an experienced teacher and I have knowledge of the standards/paperwork etc (as you would expect) plus I also have experience of my own NQT year (support was a bit mixed in all honesty).

Anyhow, what I would like to hear from an current NQTs or those who will be NQTs in September is, what do you really want/value from your mentor? Anything at all that has made you feel supported/welcome/happy in your schools?

I really want to make sure that my NQT has the best possible experience and due to the virus,I'm concious they may be more nervous than normal because of the big gap between finishing the course and starting the NQT year.

All ideas welcome!:)

2. gemmamarie08

Shiny, thank you for that. I'm so sorry you have had such poor support :( I can never understand what possesses schools to take on NQTs and then not support them.

When I have had trainees, I've made sure I check in with them each day -.just to say 'how's it going/everything ok?' So I will keep doing that.

I hope you have a successful third term -are you staying in the same school?

3. Skeoch

Skeoch Star commenter

Must meet every week with protected time. My NQTs wanted 1 hour to begin with, later dropping to 30min. Must speak daily.
    Be ahead of things: careful briefing on upcoming events and tasks ( reports, parent meetings....)
    Be initially protective if NQT makes mistakes.
    Ensure NQT gets to observe other teachers