1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT'S - How long did it take you to find your first teaching post?

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by WilkoT, Dec 15, 2011.

1. Im near the end of my teaching degree now, and almost a qualified teacher, so its time to apply for jobs. Im a male Primary Trainee.

How long did it take you to find your first teaching job?

Wilko

2. modgepodge

modgepodge Occasional commenter

I graduated in July and am starting my first job in January. I've been quite lucky. Probably a better question to ask would be "How many applications did you do before you got a job?" For me it was about 30.

3. quietlydetermined

quietlydetermined New commenter

I started applying in February, got my job in July. Between 20 and 30 applications and 3 interviews (with 5 more interviews turned down due to clashing/lined up/invited to after I had received a job). I was determined to get a job and spent a lot of time I didn't have on my final placement filling in application forms. Luckily it paid off and I'm working at a school I absolutely love. However, it must be said that a lot of success in applications and interviews is down to luck!

4. rainbow_gold

rainbow_gold New commenter

start looking now and applying now, the job situation is tough and as people are saying it is taking lots of applications to find that first job.Good luck!!

5. welshwizard

welshwizard Established commenter Forum guide