1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT year abroad?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by jmaslen, Jan 9, 2011.

1. I am currently in my final year of teaching training on a BEd primary education course. I'm beginning to think about job applications and where I might want to teach. I was just wondering if anyone knows anything about doing your NQT year abroad? Any info would be very helpful :)

2. the hippo

the hippo Established commenter Community helper

Oh dear! I thought that the subject of doing your NQT year abroad had been done to death, resurrected and then its spirit was sent to Hell. Now it turns that I am wrong!
    Anyway, to cut a long story short, jmaslen, it is indeed possible to get a job in an international school as an NQT. It can be done.
    The bad news is that most good international schools will not consider employing NQTs (they usually want staff with more experience) and therefore it is often only the dodgier schools that will employ NQTs. Furthermore, doing your NQT year abroad means that you will be in at the deep end, with no reduced timetable, no mentoring, no further training or support that you would get if you were to stay in the UK. In addition, your NQT year in an international school will not count and so you will have to do it again if you go back to the UK (and you probably will want to go back very soon, if you are at a crappy international school). The only exception to this rule are the schools for the British armed forces, but there aren't many of them.
    Of course if you teach a shortage subject, such as Chemistry, then just about any school anywhere will want to employ you!