1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT working with anxiety

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by ateacher2018, Jan 29, 2019.

1. ateacher2018

ateacher2018 New commenter

I'm really unsure of what to say other than I'm really struggling at the moment...

I graduated from university July 2018 and secured a years contract in a school to complete my NQT year. Since I started in September there have been a number of issues which have left my confidence really low.
    I am off on the sick at the moment but I have told the school I will be returning after my current sick note expires but I really don't feel confident with my decision.
    I'm really upset as I feel like I can't teach due to situations that went on. My anxiety leaves me with a daily battle with what to do and I can't stop thinking about negatives of going back.
    I need to be more positive about it all but I'm struggling. Does anyone have any ways to deal with anxiety and teaching? Or can any one offer me any advice. Feel very alone at the moment.

pepper5 likes this.
  2. Marshall

Marshall Star commenter

Your school may refer you to occupational health.
    Did you discuss this all with your mentor?

3. ateacher2018