1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT using someone else's planning.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by smallypauly, Jul 21, 2012.

1. Is it acceptable to for an NQT use another teacher from another school's planning for every subject or should they be planning for themselves.

2. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Well I use planning from here as a great inspiration and I've been a teacher forever. I also use planning from friends who are more experienced than me in certain year groups. Why on earth shouldn't an NQT? I'd think they were daft if they did everything totally from scratch and never ever used anyone else's ideas.

Plenty of teachers buy books or folders of plans to use. The fact that websites exist to provide downloads of plans and publishers make money from books, suggest that plenty of people do use ready made plans. Using those from a teacher one knows is probably a better option.

Your post implies you do not think it is acceptable.

3. I'm interested in why you're asking...

4. I don't see what's wrong with using plans from elsewhere so long as they are adapted to meet the particular needs of the class being taught. I've never found any planning that I could use just as it is because it always needs a tweak here or there to suit the abilities/interests of the class. There is certainly no point trying to reinvent the wheel every time. Good planning is good planning, regardless of who writes it. Whether the delivery is any good... well, that can be an entirely different matter!

5. oldsomeman

oldsomeman Star commenter