1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT Trained in Republic of Ireland

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by Corrie_Fan, Sep 24, 2007.

1. Corrie_Fan

Corrie_Fan New commenter

I did my Higher Diploma in Art teaching (equivalent to PGCE) in Cork, Ireland. I couldn't get work in Ireland and am now working in a school in West Sussex. The GTC won't register me as I am technically an unqualified teacher until I have completed my three terms induction period. I have had confirmation that the Irish teaching council say it's ok to do this induction period in England. But I'm worried the GTC will not recognise it. The school is aware of my situation and I am currently on an unqualified teacher salary. Can anyone offer any advice about this?

2. Corrie_Fan

Corrie_Fan New commenter

I did my Higher Diploma in Art teaching (equivalent to PGCE) in Cork, Ireland. I couldn't get work in Ireland and am now working in a school in West Sussex. The GTC won't register me as I am technically an unqualified teacher until I have completed my three terms induction period. I have had confirmation that the Irish teaching council say it's ok to do this induction period in England. But I'm worried the GTC will not recognise it. The school is aware of my situation and I am currently on an unqualified teacher salary. Can anyone offer any advice about this?