1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT Supply Teacher - Help and Advice please!

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by sgnqt17, Aug 31, 2017.

1. sgnqt17

sgnqt17 New commenter

I graduated in July and will be beginning Supply Teaching as an NQT in September. The agency I am signed up to have suggested I have a bank of lesson plans ready just in case.

However, I'm struggling with where to start! I will be doing suppy for EYFS and KS1.

Does anyone have any advice on what type of planning I should do? I'm finding it difficult due to not knowing which exact year group I'll be teaching and what they'll be learning at the time of me going into the class.

Thanks.

pepper5 likes this.
  2. pepper5

pepper5 Star commenter

Hi

I teach in secondary schools and in the seven years I have taught as a supply teacher I can remember two occasions where there was nothing left. Most schools will leave something, but it is a good idea to have some resources as a back up. Perhaps not specific plans but some activities/resources on a memory stick to take with you. That together with some story books/puppets for story times. Don't forget your PE kit. Anything else you may find handy keep in the boot of your car if you are driving. If you need it then you can pop out and get it.

So have some literacy activities/numeracy activities - things you have done on your training and enjoyed using or the children enjoyed using. The other teachers there will also fill you in on what the class have been doing.

Don't spend too much time on planning since as you say there is absolutely no way of knowing who or what you will be teaching on any given day unless you are doing a long term contract.