1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT: Stay in Scotland or go abroad?

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by sm1379, Jul 26, 2019.

1. sm1379

sm1379 New commenter

Hello,
    I was hoping to hear from any recently qualified teachers who have moved abroad after their probation year.

I am just about to start my primary probation year in Scotland, but am thinking about teaching elsewhere (Europe or the Americas) after I am fully qualified. I am also doing a part-time masters in primary science education this year to make myself more attractive to employers. I have taught as a language assistant and as a university English teacher (both in France) so I have some experience of working in another education system. I also have a TEFL qualification and an Irish passport as well as a British one.

Any thoughts? I would consider switching to private schools, but I am not sure if I would have many options, having not taught IB/ theEnglish curriculum...

2. PhuMyHung

PhuMyHung New commenter

I'm also a Scottish teacher about to enter my probation year with plans to head abroad once it's finished. Having taught TEFL in Asia, I'm keen to go back.

There's a lot of threads on here in which this topic is discussed at length - they are easily found via the search tool. What I've gleaned from the advice is that, with a PGDE and one year's experience, it is possible to get a job at one of the "third tier" international schools where pay and conditions are not as high as at other schools. You will need more years of experience to get into a "top tier" school. However, this advice may pertain more to Asian international schools. I've heard that Europe is even more competitive.