1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT starting supply work... help!!!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by libra2024, Sep 2, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I finished my Primary PGCE in June but haven't managed to get a job for September, and so I am going to be starting supply work next week to keep my head above water while I look for a more permanent job for October or January. I'm a little bit nervous about this, especially as I don't feel I have lots of experience to fall back on! In particular, I'm very aware that most of my placements were in KS2, and I've only spent a couple of weeks in KS1, back in October/November time.
    Any advice on survival tips, what to take with me when I first get that call at 7am, and any good lesson plans/ideas that don't involve too many resources or photocopying (especially for KS1!) would be really appreciated! My nerves about the whole thing are probably the biggest issue at the moment, so some help and guidance from someone who's done this before would really help boost my confidence a bit!
    Thanks! [​IMG]

2. Hi,
    I finished my Primary PGCE in June but haven't managed to get a job for September, and so I am going to be starting supply work next week to keep my head above water while I look for a more permanent job for October or January. I'm a little bit nervous about this, especially as I don't feel I have lots of experience to fall back on! In particular, I'm very aware that most of my placements were in KS2, and I've only spent a couple of weeks in KS1, back in October/November time.