1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT questions please have a look

Discussion in 'Special educational needs' started by RamC, Sep 4, 2011.

1. RamC

RamC New commenter

Hello

Although I've worked in SEN for 10 years, I'm just beginning my NQT year as teacher of a class of key stage 3/4 class of young people, all with PMLD.

I have two questions I was wondering if you more experienced folk would answer for me:)

1. There is a boy on role in my class who has not attended school for more than 2 years. Because he is on my class list, surely I must still have some responsibility for his eduction? No one seems to have visited him for a long time.

2. I've got 5 staff of varying levels of experience- how do I get the best from them, using their skills etc while retaining my own preference for the routine etc?

Becca

2. RamC

RamC New commenter

Hello

Although I've worked in SEN for 10 years, I'm just beginning my NQT year as teacher of a class of key stage 3/4 class of young people, all with PMLD.

I have two questions I was wondering if you more experienced folk would answer for me:)

1. There is a boy on role in my class who has not attended school for more than 2 years. Because he is on my class list, surely I must still have some responsibility for his eduction? No one seems to have visited him for a long time.

2. I've got 5 staff of varying levels of experience- how do I get the best from them, using their skills etc while retaining my own preference for the routine etc?

Becca

3. dzil

dzil Occasional commenter

Hi Becca,