1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT on a 12 month contract

Discussion in 'New teachers' started by fahrsx, Feb 27, 2012.

1. It's that time of year where vacancies start to appear. So my question is this...

I work in a difficult school where expectations are extremely high, the school's aim is to become outstanding. As a trainee I was very happy to get a post last year and accepted a 12 month contract. It has been a very rocky road with lots of highs and lows (and I appriciate this is the case for most NQTs). The school is currently advertising a teaching post, however nothing has been said to me about whether I should apply to this. Other teachers including my mentor have said they don't think it's my job and that while things are going well I should keep my head down as they will approach me. Whilst I appriciate their honesty is doesn't help me or my mind working overtime as to whether I will have a job come September. I'm driving myself crazy thinking about it.

So I have two options. Do I

1. Bite the bullet and speak to the head but risk bringing attention to myself, which isn't always positive

OR

2. Shut up and stop worrying and wait for them to speak to me.

Does anyone have any experience of this they can share? If I go with option 2 how long do you think is reasonable to wait?

Thank you for any advice :)

2. It's that time of year where vacancies start to appear. So my question is this...