1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT observation - am I getting upset over nothing?!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by stressedoutnqt, Aug 13, 2016.

1. stressedoutnqt

stressedoutnqt New commenter

Hi! I'm 23 and I've just finished my NQT year (I passed) but towards the end of the year I was having such a terrible time that I really didn't think I was going to pass and it's really making me dread going back in September. This is quite a long story but please read it and let me know if I'm being unreasonably upset!

I'm a secondary school MFL teacher and my Head of Department came to observe me two weeks before the end of the year - the observation didn't go well because I didn't include a speaking activity that lesson, and when she spoke to a pupil they said that they didn't do speaking activities. The lesson feedback therefore said that I never did them, so I spoke to my HoD and explained that we did do them. I showed her evidence of this in my past powerpoints and in my previous lesson observation notes from the school's NQT mentor. She agreed to change the feedback - not before I had got really really upset about it all - so I thought this was all fine. A few days later she spoke to me about how I need to learn to take criticism, and how I can't get as upset as I did and then expect her to say that everything is fine when she fills in her forms, but I thought we were fine.