1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT not done teaching overseas HELP

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by katherine_elliott, Feb 8, 2012.

1. I left the UK after qualifying in 2009 with a PGCE in primary. I did a year supply and struggled to get a job, instead i moved to the middle east where i have been working for the past 2 years. Unfortunately the international school doesn't allow for us to our NQT year. I want to move on in the next year and was wondering if anyone had any advice, do i head back to the UK to try and do my NQT or do i move onto other international schools that don't need it?
    I really enjoy teaching overseas and am not 100% sure i want to come home to teach. What advice would you offer?

2. I left the UK after qualifying in 2009 with a PGCE in primary. I did a year supply and struggled to get a job, instead i moved to the middle east where i have been working for the past 2 years. Unfortunately the international school doesn't allow for us to our NQT year. I want to move on in the next year and was wondering if anyone had any advice, do i head back to the UK to try and do my NQT or do i move onto other international schools that don't need it?
    I really enjoy teaching overseas and am not 100% sure i want to come home to teach. What advice would you offer?

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

If you were to go back to the UK, then it seems to me that you would most probably have quite a few problems, katherine_elliott.
    Firstly, a lot of heads in the UK think that international teaching is just a tax-free holiday in the sun, so you will probably not be offered a job at all or else you will have to settle for something pretty rubbishy.