1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT moving to Australia

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by kisforkaren, Jan 31, 2012.

1. I am planning to move to Australia on a working visa for a year. I will
    have become a NQT Scottish Secondary teacher in Modern Studies (only in
    Scottish curriculum) by then. My degree is in Geography and Politics
    but my PGDE is only in Modern Studies. I am hoping I can teach
    Geography/History but I am not sure how flexible Australia will be. I am
    doing a 140 TEFL course this summer in English. Can I apply for casual
    teaching posts in Australia? Where am I most likely to find work in this
    profession? Any advice much appreciated. Thank you.

2. littlemissraw

littlemissraw Occasional commenter

Have you taught for a year post training? Whats state are you going to? As they'll all vary. x

3. Can you pass on the name of your friend's employer? I'd be dead chuffed with getting over $350/day for washing dishes! :D

4. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter

I can't remember the employer but she is working up in the mines. It is a LOT of hours though! 350 per day is the supply rate though. Does it actually work out as that per day if you are not supply. From memory the bottom of the pay scale is 55000 and a school year is around 195 days (i haven't looked up and could be wrong) this works out at 283 per day not 350.

5. yasimum

yasimum New commenter