1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT in COBIS schools

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by kirby42, Oct 10, 2018.

1. kirby42

kirby42 New commenter

I'm currently doing a PGCE course in English and will hopefully finish next year. Our tutors and lecturers have told us to start thinking about finding work after Christmas.

What are the odds of being able to do my NQT year abroad in a COBIS school? I have a master's degree in history, I'm a fully qualified EAL teacher with a few years of international experience, full qualifications in speech and drama, experience in sports coaching and foreign language skills.

I would hope that this would make me somewhat of an eligible candidate. NQT is offered by some COBIS schools, but do they take many teachers? What would be the best way to find work with them, apart from just checking the vacancies page on their site? Any advice/tips?

Thanks in advance!

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

I believe that COBIS has their own website, so perhaps you could start by checking there. COBIS schools also post teaching vacancies on the TES website, I believe.

On this TES forum there have been quite a few posts recently about NQTs doing their "NQT year" in a COBIS school, so perhaps you could have a rummage through this forum and see what you can find. If you are not particularly fussy about which country you would be teaching in, kirby42, then maybe getting a job as an NQT at a COBIS school might not be too hard. Do they take many teachers? Well, how many is "many"? Some posters on this TES forum have suggested that on the whole the COBIS schools tend to have fewer vacancies, as the teaching staff tend to stay longer.