1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT in a failing school

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by Purepoise, Nov 28, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Purepoise

Purepoise New commenter

Hi Guys,

I cannot digress too much information as it is confidential, but I am an NQT in a school that is going to be deemed 4 by OFSTED.

I am writing purely because I'm panicking. As a new teacher I am commencing my training in a school that is now going into special measures and I am considering my whole career. Someone mentioned to me that if I was to be moving on to a different school prior to being in this one, no one will want to touch me because I will be seen as 'inadequately trained' as reflected by my previous employer. I just need some advice on what to do next.

I am finding it difficult to get advice from my department as they are all in the same position and are very biased trying to keep the team together. I know that this is going to be a very difficult time, and I feel a little bit lost.

I wasn't actually seen by OFSTED, and not in a snobby or big headed way, but I feel as I am fresh out of training my teaching is actually alright.

Any advice would be great.

2. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

I think you mean 'divulge' not 'digress', and 'after' not 'prior to'.

I don't think it's true that you will be considered to be 'inadequately trained' - when schools go in to special measures lots of training and support should be put into place for all staff in the school, in order to solve whatever issue has lead to them being put into in special measures; that could actually benefit you, as you could end up having access to many more training opportunities than a regular NQT.