1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT- Improving standards of writing.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Amie1509, Jun 24, 2011.

1. I have found out I have a year 5 class next year. As I am really enthusiastic about starting I wanted to find out from the current class teacher where the childrens strengths lie. All the children are really expressive fluent readers. Only a couple of children with suspected dyslexia need more support, due to visual stress. So I am lucky really. However, the class teacher has noted that many children find writing chiallenging and need more guidance in this area. As an NQT I have had some experience with improving writing but i'm guessing my ideas are pretty standard. To prepare myself, I would like to do some reading to get more ideas to inspire the children. Does anyone have any ideas to improve children's writing or recommend any reading.
    Sorry if i'm asking something thats pretty obvious, any ideas will be much appreciated.
    Thanks.

2. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

I'd recommend reading the jumpstart literacy and storytelling books (and as it happens the science/creativity/maths/etc)

Oh and the 'Getting the *** to Write' books.

3. Thanks, it's hard to know where to start. I really want to help the children improve in a way that isn't going to put them off.

4. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Jumpstart are full of fun and exciting short activities to do exactly that.

My class say their best thing in literacy this year was telling a story to my car parked on the playground. That was taken from an idea in the storytelling book. Some of the quirkier children swear blind the car gave them advice on improving the story as well!