1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT failed - other employment options?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by a1d, Sep 29, 2015.

1. a1d

a1d New commenter

Hi,

I was wondering if anybody would be able to give me some advice.

I graduated with a PGCE 4 years ago and I have been doing supply work in schools in my local area ever since. About a year and a half ago I was asked by the head teacher of a school if I would be interested in doing a job share. I said yes and explained I would like it to count towards my NQT year. The Deputy head teacher who was my mentor left at Xmas that year. I was then asked by the head teacher if I would like to take the class on full time as she wanted my job share to be the temporary deputy and she would also be my mentor. I received no mentoring and left last Easter. They rushed through the paperwork for the NQT year and I was signed off for completing 2 terms.
    Since that point I have been working in a local academy for the last year and after an interview and a job offer I started working as a year 2 teacher this September. I failed my first lesson observation with them and had to have a meeting with the head who said that my last school had not properly mentored me, the paperwork contradicted itself and they would have to start from scratch. They proposed to complete 3 NQT terms in the time we have left up until Xmas. I said this was not realistic from a learning point of view and I was already working from 7:00-17:30 at school, in the evenings and weekends.