1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT behaviour advice

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by LSMCCA, Oct 6, 2019.

1. LSMCCA

LSMCCA New commenter

Hi all, this is my first time posting. I'm hoping for some advice.

I am currently completing my NQT year and I am having problems with a particular class. There behaviour is terrible and I was told to expect them to be my problem class. I am using the school behaviour policy and trying to be consistent, but there are definitely times when they get really rowdy where I cannot even pinpoint where the problem is coming from. They can also be really rude and disrespectful to me. I know this is to be expected in your NQT year, and it should be hard, especially until xmas. I have been advised by SLT, and those supporting me to be consistent and use the school behaviour policy which involves sending the children out of the classroom.

My problem is my mentor has advised me to not send pupils out. They think I should be working on winning the children over and keeping those who are behaving badly in the classroom. Her advise is that if I am too strict I will never build a rapport with the class, but honestly, I'm even aware I'm not being strict or consistent enough with this class.

Should I follow my mentors advice and let these children stay in the classroom no matter how they behave? I feel that everything I have read advises completely against this but my mentor is much more experienced than me.

2. frustum

frustum Star commenter

It's very difficult to be consistent when you are not being given consistent advice!