1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

NQT and thinking of leaving teaching already!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Katiemaze, Feb 16, 2020.

1. Katiemaze

Katiemaze New commenter

After finishing my PGCE last June I was lucky enough to secure a permanent position last September. The college is lovely and modern, my manager really accommodating, students on the whole are great and I am already attached to them. I really enjoy teaching my two subjects and I know I am a good teacher. I don't feel like my workload is too much at the moment - it is about right.
    The problem is the commute. The college is not close - the commute is over an hour in the mornings, and sometimes and hour and a half in the evenings, and is starting to take its toll. I am constantly exhausted. The low pay is also an issue, as I took a 0.8 contract as I couldn't bear the thought of travelling there 5 days a week. The day off really helps me recuperate mentally and physically,even though I spend most of it marking and prepping! But the trade-off is I am struggling to meet my monthly outgoings, even with the help of my partner's income. We went into debt for me to do the PGCE and had to borrow a lot, which we are paying back now. As a result we can't afford to save or book a holiday - the things that keep you going when you're working all the hours!
    I am always looking for jobs nearer to home. I applied for another job and been offered an interview! It's closer to home (about 40 minutes drive) and it is also a permanent position. However, they are asking me to come in for interview on a teaching day, adn I am unclear what my salary would be.