1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Now you can have people teaching with no professional qualifications

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by oldsomeman, Jul 29, 2012.

1. oldsomeman

oldsomeman Star commenter

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-19017544
    Is this the end of the trained teacher as we go back to the employment of cheaper folk...What a waste of time ever training to be one!

2. Yeah? Just to play devil's advocate here...how come the independent sector which employs a great many unqualified teachers does so well?
    Also as an ex-University lecturer I couldn't work in the state sector before. I work in the independent sector (SEN - before you scream elitism) and I taught part-time to fund my postgraduate studies. By the time I realised where my future really lay the school at which I was very happy couldn't have spared me for the ridculously inflexible placements required on PGCE nor were they in a financial position to offer GTP. At the time I write, I have an MPhil in my chosen subject, 3 years working in pastoral residential SEN, 4 years as classroom teacher 2 as HOD and am now HT. Until this decision was taken I could not have transferred into the state sector, other than as HT (the one role I don't feel qualified to do in a large inner city academy).
    I understand the concerns of the profession, but until training is made a great deal more flexible and inclusive many people who would be valuable in education will be unable to join the profession. I agree that training is invaluable but I also firmly believe that a lot of teaching is instinctive and that the "profession" remains a "vocation" for the very best.