1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

notarised degree cert

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by musikteech, Mar 26, 2016.

1. musikteech

musikteech Occasional commenter

I got my degree certificate notarised the other day at a notary public in case I apply for a job in Korea, and you need a notarised and apostilled degree to get a visa there. Interestingly, I was searching for the best price in my area which is the Midlands and the first solicitor said he could sign it but not verify it as real or something for £80 but if I wanted him to certify it as real, he would have to phone up the university registrar and then it would be £100. I thought to myself, I ent paying that so I looked for another notary public and I found one who said £30. He has two offices, one in Birmingham and another in Coventry and he goes to Coventry in the evenings. So I went in the evening with my original certificate and he signed it as a true copy of the original, put his seal on it and stamped it with his address. No phoning up the registrar or anything like that. Luckily mine is a true original degree cert, but I just wonder the authenticity of the degrees this cheaper solicitor signs.

2. ejclibrarian

ejclibrarian Established commenter Community helper

And you're telling us why?

3. musikteech

I just wanted to share this because you have to attest your degree certificates for quite a few countries nowadays. There may be others who have had similar experiences. £100 is a rip off, it only takes a minute to notarise a certificate.

4. Helen-Back

Helen-Back Occasional commenter

5. lovely.lady

lovely.lady Occasional commenter