1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Not informing current Head of interview.

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by notreallycutoutforthis, Apr 28, 2012.

1. notreallycutoutforthis

notreallycutoutforthis New commenter

I have been at my current school for eight years and have generally been very happy there. I am a classroom teacher and KS co-ordinator.
    I applied last week for a HoD position in another school and I was offered a first round interview for this coming Monday.

The interview was scheduled for 4pm so I had plenty of time to get there after the school day was finished. For this reason, I have not informed my current school of the interview because they do not call for references unless you go through to the second round, so I was intending to inform my head at that point. This was on the advice of my current HoD who reasoned that if I don't get another interview the Head will never know that I'm looking elsewhere (I'm not, actually. it's just that this particular position is very exciting) and so I'll avoid him feeling that I am dissatisfied at work, and if I do go through, I would inform the school as normal.
    However, I received a phone call from the prospective school on Friday afternoon asking me if I could be interviewed at 2pm instead. Now this is no problem in terms of teaching (I am free all afternoon) but obviously it will mean leaving to go for an interview during school time. I am sure that the Head will be unimpressed if I tell him on the day that I'm leaving early to go for an interview.