1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Not getting TLR, is promotion still possible?

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by senco4040, Jan 24, 2011.

1. Posted this on SEN, trying again here.
    I know there are a lot of questions about this so sorry in advance if I’m repeating.
    I am in my first year as senco. I have about ten TAs to manage. The budget at school as most schools is tight. The head only pays an SEN for this role which is the same as she paid the last Senco. I love my job and don’t want to cause problems at school but as my role fits the criteria for TLR1, is there anything I can do about it? I spoke to my head and she said that SEN is all there is. Not sure where to go from here. Should I pursue this or just be happy that I am getting the experience?

All teachers have at least one subject but only the Maths and Literacy coordinators get TLR, other subjects and Assessment do not. Is this right?
    Also If i'm not getting a TLR will I still be able to go for promotion in the future as I will hopefully have experience just without the pay?
    Any advice would be great.

2. Posted this on SEN, trying again here.
    I know there are a lot of questions about this so sorry in advance if I’m repeating.