1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Not currently working - how to explain

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by smilesgomiles, Jan 18, 2016.

1. smilesgomiles

smilesgomiles New commenter

I left my last teaching post just before Christmas; I am an experienced teacher and until recently have always felt confident and successful. Last April we had had a change of Headteacher and with that came a change in atmosphere in school, an big increase in an already large workload, long and unpleasant staff meetings, frequent surprise observations with no feedback, unfair performance management reviews and negative, frankly bullying behaviour. The staff moral became very low (it was previously a very happy school) and over a quarter of staff left (all without jobs to go to). I came home from school angry and upset every night and resented the long hours of work I was doing at home. I decided to hand my notice in before half term with the hope that a job might come up between then and Christmas, but I didn't find what I was looking for.
    I am now applying for jobs but know that it is going to look suspicious to employers that I am currently not working. I am also quite scared of getting myself into a similar situation and very nervous about applying for teaching jobs. On teaching application forms I need to give a reason for leaving each job, but not sure what to put without causing them concern. If I get offered an interview how honest should I be about the situation that I left?

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

I am very sorry to hear of your difficult situation. And I am afraid that it is difficult.

The main thing is that you shouldn't lie.