1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

not completing a short term contract

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by mrsNibbles, May 15, 2011.

1. mrsNibbles

mrsNibbles New commenter

Hi all,
    I've never done supply before and was wanting to do day to day supply but somehow ended up having a meeting with a school (through and agency) and agreeing to do supply for them until the end of the summer term. It was very rushed (right at the end of the week before the easter hols) and I am massively regretting it now.
    I'm feeling very very stressed and would really like to stop teaching there. I'd be willing to keep going until the half term to give them time to find someone else but is it going to be a problem stopping teaching there when I said I'd do it for the whole term?
    I'm not 'too' worried about references (would my next job want a reference of a supply school anyway) as I'm thinking of leaving teaching - or at least going into TA if I don't leave the profession completely - but is there anything I need to be aware of??
    Thanks for any help!

2. BelleDuJour

BelleDuJour Star commenter

Don't worry about it. I've just walked out on a similar contract. The school was *****, the kids were in control and I wasn't prepared to put myself through the aggro.
    My agency was very supportive and I was offered work the very next day. It turned out I was the third very experienced teacher who worked there and has walked out (the school is, not surprisingly, in special measures).
    If your agency is worth their salt they will understand and not allow this to effect you. They have a duty of care to make sure you are happy.
    One perk of supply work is the fact you can walk away!