1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Nose stud???!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by laura2207, Sep 1, 2019.

1. laura2207

laura2207 New commenter

Advice please......
    I’m a primary teacher/SENCO/SLT, been in my current role for 19 years.
    I have always wanted a small nose stud but I’m a little apprehensive as to how this will be perceived by my colleagues and parents?
    Has anyone had any negative experiences of this? I’ve checked the code of conduct for staff policy and it doesn’t mention it?
    Thanks in advance!

2. blue451

blue451 Lead commenter

Some schools specifically state no visible piercings other than earrings. Some state no visible tattoos.

It's your personal choice as to whether to do this or not, but you have to keep in mind that 1) some people (colleagues/parents/whoever) will see it negatively and 2) your next school, or the one after that, might not allow it in school.

Marshall likes this.
  3. Corvuscorax

Corvuscorax Senior commenter

personally, they disgust me, and I prefer not to look at people's faces if they have piercings. Some of your students, parents and colleagues will feel the same

4. lardylady

lardylady Star commenter

It wouldn't be allowed where I work.

lardylegs and Marshall like this.
  5. Marshall

Marshall Star commenter

Aren't these a bit out of date?

lardylegs likes this.
  6. celago22

celago22 Occasional commenter

I don't think nose studs look particularly nice.

lardylegs and Marshall like this.
  7. Sir Cumference

Sir Cumference Occasional commenter

You have two choices:
    a) Ask the head/governors for the school's policy on such matters. There probably won't be one so wait until they can reach a decision.