1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Non-Verbal/TL Behaviour Management techniques in the classroom

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by morkee, Mar 30, 2012.

1. morkee

morkee New commenter

Hi there everyone,

I'm currently a Modern Languages student at university, and as part of my Year Abroad I have been working in a collège and a lycée in France.

It's going really well, I am fortunate enough to be running classes by myself, which is particularly useful as I want to train to be an MFL teacher after my degree.

There is one problem I am having in class, and wondered if you could all help me with it. Whenever pupils gets noisy/off-task/distracted, I'm finding it difficult to get them to continue doing their work. If I try to do this in English, they generally don't understand. I've done this in French several times, but they just laugh at my accent and continue what they are doing.

I've asked teachers here about it, but they've only ever been able to help re: disciplining particularly problematic children after the lesson etc. So, do any of you have any strategies to manage behaviour using non-verbal and TL prompts? Whilst I know I could just let them misbehave, I am really keen on being able to do this well as a 'practice' for when I may one day become a 'real teacher'.

Thanks for your thoughts!

2. morkee

morkee New commenter

Apologies for the lack of paragraphing, it seems that pressing enter doesn't work with Safari!