1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

non-verbal behaviour management

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by shanghai_teacher, Dec 20, 2011.

1. Hello there, I'm new to the forums so please go easy on me if I've posted this in the wrong place! I'm a British EFL teacher in a primary school in Shanghai and am looking for some strategies to help manage one of my classes.
    To give you a bit of background, I'm in my early thirties, I taught in a UK primary school for 4 years (including a GTP year), and have come out to China for a year with my OH who has been relocated over here with work. In the UK I would say my behaviour management was reasonable.
    In China, I teach 20 different classes and see them once or twice a week, and 19 out of 20 of them are great, but there's one class (9-10 year olds) that are a bit of a nightmare. The school says they are difficult. However they are particularly difficult with me! The problem is low level disruption from about 10 of the 40(!) students to the extent that as a whole they are extremely difficult to teach. Calling out to each other across the room (in Chinese), talking, making raspberry noises while I'm looking away.... My Chinese is quite limited, I'm not supposed to be talking to them in Chinese at all anyway, but they are a very low ability class and thus their English is very weak. That doesn't excuse their behaviour though. My other classes of similar age and ability cover twice as much in a lesson. All in all it is very difficult to maitain a reasonable level of order! I was therefore wondering if anyone has any good non-verbal strategies that I could try?