1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Non teaching partner

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by rosiestrudwick, Nov 20, 2011.

1. I know that this has been the subject of previous messages, and I have read through them, however I would still like to see if there is any more advise that can be given. My partner and I are very keen to move, and for me to teach abroad. We have the problem that I think many others have - I am a teacher, he is not. He currently works as a buyer for a construction firm, although he has no particular desire to stay within that area. He is more than willing to train to teach English, however he doesn't have a degree which I think can be a sticking point. I am currently researching school's that are advertising and am ready to apply to a few. Before I do am hoping for advise on the best way to present the situation to potential employers, the most likely countries to accept me on these grounds and the likelihood that this will affect my chances accross the board. If we are able to live initially on one salary then we would, however I'm sure that school's do not see this as a positive thing. I'd love to hear from anyone who has been in this position whether with a good or bad outcome!
    Many thanks.

2. Surely you apply for a job on your own merits, and what your partner is doing does not come into it? It's up to you to decide if you can afford to live on one salary.

Don't want to be nit picking, but when making applications, make sure you check spelling and grammar carefully - advice (noun), advise (verb). You don't need an apostrophe to make a word plural - schools not school's.

3. Crowbob

Crowbob Established commenter

I was thinking the same.