1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Non-stick or not?

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by tartetatin, Jul 13, 2011.

1. tartetatin

tartetatin New commenter

Hello,
    I need to replace my (Tefal non-stick) pots and pans. While making a white sauce tonight, I noticed that some of the non-stick coating was flaking off into the sauce! In fairness though, I have had them for a few years now.
    Not sure if I should buy non-stick again though. I'm a lazy cook, so love the non-stick element ... but don't want to have to replace a full set again.
    Is there nowadays such a thing as a durable non-stick coating - or should I bite the bullet and go for stainless steel? Your thoughts or product recommendations would be appreciated.
    Thank you! [​IMG]

2. Si N. Tiffick

Si N. Tiffick Occasional commenter

I've got a set of Anolon pans- the hard anodised ones that were given to me by a friend when I was setting up house again after my divorce. They say they are not dishwasher proof- as far as I can make out this refers to the finish of the outside of the pans- they started off with a brished matt look which is fading but the insides are fine.
    To be honest, though, I tend to use stainless steel pans with a heavy sandwich base for most of my cooking, plus a couple of small non stick pans for heating things up in, and a heavy non stick frying pan and wok. Other than that I use cast iron Le Creuset casseroles. I don't think I'd shell out for the Anolon pans myself.

3. tartetatin

tartetatin New commenter

Thanks very much for your prompt reply.
    I've just googled Anolon and it sounds ideal ... EXCEPT for the part about them not being dishwasher proof.
    Slattern that I am, this rules it out for me!