1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Non Negotiables

Discussion in 'Primary' started by wldawson, Mar 12, 2012.

1. Hi, I am a parent and infant teacher although I have been out of education for a while due to having children. My Yr 1 daughter came home the other day with a list of 40 Non Negotiable 'skills' that she was 'expected to acheive' by the end of the year. I was completely shocked. She has struggled a bit with school work and I have given her plenty of help but have been very careful not to push or do too much. She is now working at approximately 1c so slightly under what is expected for this term. She has moved from a p6 last term so has improved greatly. She has been doing ELS to support her literacy skills, she is happy to go to school and is never in any trouble. Her teachers are really good and have supported her well. I have not heard of this non negs term before but I think it is awful. Am I the only one? My daughter has made amazing progress really and is trying hard. Unfortunately she will probably not acheive all of these things that are apparently non negotiable. I am so cross about this, it makes all the hard work that has gone on at school and home insignificant if she is going to 'fail' the year anyway. Does anyone else have any experience of this?